top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: August 2023


Out of a spindly sprout,

you grew,

sprawling across your earthen bed,

green leaves, green fruit,

tiny as a marble.

Our first harvest, we picked perhaps a handful,

hunting down the red.

We ate them raw right from the vine

in a burst of sour seeds and warm delight.

We had reaped a miracle.


And now, behold—

your bounty, rich as rubies, round as pearls,

so plentiful that I may toss aside

the split-skinned, fly-sucked few that have not yet let go,

to keep none but the best.


My colander fills, then my counter, then my crockpot

for a simmer slow.

I strain the seeds, drizzle in the cream.

Soup for my dinner, for my freezer,

so, when winter comes,

and you lie buried in a killing snow,

you shall yet speak to me of summer:

a sun

in my mouth

to burn away the cold.

 

Here's what I read, cooked, and created in the month of August.


What I Read

  • The Secret History, Donna Tartt (★★★★★)

  • The Marriage Portrait, Maggie O'Farrell (★★★★)

  • Pachinko, Min Jin Lee (★★★★)

  • Counting By 7s, Holly Goldberg Sloan (★★★★)

  • Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers, Deborah Heiligman (★★★)

  • Hang the Moon, Jeanette Walls (★★★)

  • Race Marxism: The Truth about Critical Race Theory and Praxis, James Lindsay (★★★)

  • The Dictionary of Lost Words, Pip Williams (★★)

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


What I Cooked

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: If you know how to activate yeast, you can make this bread. So delicious. I made BLTs; I made grilled cheese; I ate it warm with butter and enjoyed every bite.

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: Because I dislike on principle any recipe that requires me to purchase applesauce, I Frankensteined this frosting with this other zucchini cake, and what a glorious combination it was.

Difficulty: ★

Flavor: ★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: Needed just a little more sweetness and a little less time in the oven for me (I think I did the full hour, and I didn't need to). But it was good nevertheless, and I love any baked good that takes only one bowl to assemble.

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★

Keeper: No

Comments: This recipe is similar but way better.


What I Created

May your days be filled with beauty, and may your heart be filled with the willingness to see and give thanks for it.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page