top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: September 2023


I hate the tree that turns

too early,

hate its foolish blush, its thinning branch.

How I despise the colors as they come too soon,

before the frost,

before the wind can say summer’s goodbye.

I loathe the leaf that dies and drops,

a little herald of the hard reality:

so too, too soon, falls death.


I shuffle through with old man steps,

then stop.

One leaf, though russet red, has yet

to curl and crack.

Its gold veins glow; its perfect points remain.

I tuck it in my pocket, take it home

to press between the leaves of Dante,

that it might find there

life eternal, life beyond decay.

 

Here's what I read, cooked, and created in the month of September.


What I Read

  • Don't Follow Your Heart: Boldly Breaking the 10 Commandments of Self-Worship, Thaddeus Williams (★★★★★)

  • Them Before Us: Why We Need a Global Children's Rights Movement, Katy Faust (★★★★★)

  • Little Fires Everywhere, Celeste Ng (★★★★)

  • Commonwealth, Ann Patchett (★★★)

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


What I Cooked

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Maybe

Comments: I made this to see if I liked it as well as Sally's simple sandwich bread, but honestly, they turned out about the same. Perhaps that is because I used oats rather than this multi-grain cereal she talks about; perhaps it is because I am not yet at the point in my life where I want to grind seeds for my own bread. In any case, it was a good loaf of bread with a few extra steps.

Difficulty: ★

Flavor: ★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: I barely followed this recipe (didn't use avocado or cucumber), but it is good for those few ears of sweet corn you've got leftover after they're cooked. Holds up decently well in the fridge.

Difficulty: ★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: This frosting might become a brownie necessity. Next-level good.

Difficulty: ★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: The quintessential spiced zucchini bread recipe. I liked it so much I made it twice in one month (the second time as muffins, which I daresay were even better).

Difficulty: ★

Flavor: ★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: This was great the first night but not the best reheated.

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: A little heavy on the vinegar––could cut back to 1 T. Even if you are only using half a pound of pasta, make a whole sauce recipe.

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: I love a good one pan roast. This was a great one pan roast.


What I Created

  • Unpublished original poem "Day One"

  • Additional progress on my project

May your days be filled with beauty, and may your heart be filled with the willingness to see and give thanks for it.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page