top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Not Here: A Christmas Meditation [Original Poetry]



I would not come here –

There is no room; the world is rife

with ruffians and vagabonds. Our king

is in the pocket of our captors. The Roman peace is an uneasy lull,

a brief reprieve from wars which we are bound to fight.

In this bleak land,

that which is good and right soon chokes;

it cannot grow.

No infant – even one so pure –

can thus remain. This wicked place

is sure to stain the spotless soul.

Best then to go, to leave this awful place alone,

for it is like to die; if only it would sink in on itself

without even a whimper.

Would that the world could slink into the night

and die.

This is no home for a new life.

No,

I would not come here.


But I would come to you,

Beloved.

Who needs a healer but the sick?

Who needs a pardon? Not the well-behaved.

I am the Holy One who rescues the depraved

and makes them well.

For me creation wails; it calls its Lord to seek

the straying sheep,

to be their door and their defense

and guide them to the Way.

I knock; I knock –

Unlock your heart. Let me be God

with and in you –

your Light, your Life,

your peace, on earth to stay.

I AM,

and I

will meet you here.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page