top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: April


I had hoped things would be on their way back to normal by now. Originally, they were supposed to be, yet here we are, quarantined until the end of May. As someone who thrives on planning and organizing, I have found it difficult to adapt my normal systems (e.g. meal planning, sleeping, accomplishing schoolwork) to this weird time when even the most well-thought plans can go out the window in a moment.


Even still, I think I'm in a better spot now than I was last month––less sad and more resigned to the waiting. As frustrating as it is right now, I know there will come a time in the future when life will be crazy and I'll look back on these weeks with nothing but longing. So I am trying to enjoy what I can: my daily walks around our beautifully blooming neighborhood, time to bake more involved recipes than I normally would, and extra relaxation. Such human activities are simply good for the soul, and at a time when I'm not able to connect with other people in person or work (both of which are also good for the soul), I'm doing what I can to enjoy these nourishing times of rest and creativity.


What I Read

  • The Tipping Point, Malcolm Gladwell (★★★★★)

  • Just Jane, Nancy Moser (★★★)

  • Alex and Eliza, Melissa De La Cruz (★★★★)

  • Notes from an Accidental Band Geek, Erin Dionne (★★★)

  • Cultural Engagement: A Crash Course in Contemporary Issues, edited by Karen Swallow Prior and Joshua D. Chatraw (★★★★★)

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


This was a slow reading month for me. I had a tough time getting into Just Jane, and Cultural Engagement, though excellent, was not exactly what I would categorize as light reading. I can't wait to get back to the library!


What I Cooked

In my opinion, leeks are one of the most underrated vegetables. This soup seemed like a great way to incorporate more of them into our rotation. And while I wouldn't necessarily say it was bad, it was kind of like eating green baby food. Not impressed.

Are they dessert? Are they a snack? Are they breakfast? I can't answer that question, but I can tell you they were delicious.


After soups, dips are my second favorite food group. I had a mad craving for French onion dip for about a week, and I thought this would be a great way to satisfy it. It was all right (my mom really liked it), but I didn't find it particularly flavorful, and it was quite oily. I don't think I would make it again.


Having purchased thirty corn tortillas last month and used maybe ten, I needed to get them out of my fridge. These chips were incredibly easy to make in the oven, and they tasted great. Although I don't usually have corn tortillas on hand, if you always end up with extras, this is a great way to use them up.


I am proud to say that I don't drink coffee. But the more I saw this whipped coffee on Instagram, the more intrigued I was. Fortunately, my coffee-loving mom was also interested, so we tried it together. With a couple pumps of vanilla Torani, it was quite palatable. And this whipped Nutella variation? Even better!


What I Created

  • Original sonnet: "The Last Sermon"

  • Article "We All Need Saving"––the first article I've ever submitted to an external publication!

  • Blackout poem "Not Without Me"

  • Blackout poem "Deep in Infinity"

  • Unpublished and untitled original sonnet on Ecclesiastes 3

  • 3 additional articles for my Writing as Cultural Engagement class


I'm sure May will be much like April––intervals of waiting followed by times of disappointment. But the green grass and the budding trees I see on my daily walks remind me to hope for the good that is to come. It may not arrive on my timetable, but nothing can stop it from getting here in the end.

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page