top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: August


There's something irrationally sad about August. You're coming off a fabulous summer––maybe a vacation, at least some sleeping in here or there, gorgeous sunsets that stretch past 9 o'clock, farmers' stands teeming with just-picked produce, hot days and balmy nights where you can throw your windows wide open to the breeze. Even those first couple weeks of the month, you still get some of that.


But then there comes that morning where you have to turn back for a jacket before you leave home, that moment you pick your last zucchini off the vine, that moment you run out of planner pages and have to buy a new one, which is closely followed by that moment you realize back-to-school season is upon you, which means summer is over, at least emotionally. Even if the hot weather stretches into September, each day is still growing shorter. And every night, the dark comes incrementally faster.


This August, I have been acutely aware of that sadness. The changes I was anticipating last month have come, bringing new opportunities, yes, but also a deep sense of melancholy. A chapter has ended, and a new chapter is beginning.


But some things, thankfully, remain the same. My family and I are still well; my husband and I are still enjoying our new home (even more so now that we have been joined by our family's first dog); I am still keeping myself occupied with my favorite hobbies. Throughout August, here's what I read, cooked, and created.


What I Read

  • How to Raise the Perfect Dog: Through Puppyhood and Beyond, Cesar Millan (★★★★★)

  • The Quest for Cosmic Justice, Thomas Sowell (★★★★★)

  • Sex and the City of God, Carolyn Weber (★★★★)

  • Devotedly: The Personal Letters and Love Story of Jim and Elisabeth Elliot, Valerie Elliot Shepard (★★★★)

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, J.K. Rowling (★★★★★)––reread

  • You're Not Enough (And That's Okay): Escaping the Toxic Culture of Self-Love, Allie Beth Stuckey (★★★★)

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


What I Cooked

The beauty of being best friends with a fellow foodie is that you can make delicious food together. As soon as we saw this gorgeous tart on Instagram, we knew we had to try it, and we were not disappointed. The balance between the delicate mascarpone filling, the zingy ginger crust, and the fresh nectarines was truly delicious. Even though I don't have a tart pan, I was able to make it just fine in my 9-inch springform pan. My one caveat would be to plan on serving this the same day you make it in order to avoid the dreaded second-day sogginess that plagues fresh fruit desserts.

Is it weird that I like making my own birthday meal? Probably. But as soon as I saw this recipe on Instagram, I knew I had to make it happen for my birthday celebration. I love a good Funfetti cake but don't particularly care for cake mixes, so I was eager to try this one. It truly is a quintessential Funfetti cake (and pretty easy to make and decorate as well). I did find that it was a bit dry after the third day, but nothing a little vanilla ice cream can't fix.

Making pretty desserts is not really in my culinary skill set. It's why I rarely make cupcakes or decorate cakes. But shortly after I volunteered to host my soon-to-be (as in, will officially be this weekend) sister-in-law's bachelorette shower, I thought it might be cute to serve cake pops, which happen to be one of her favorite treats. Not wanting to order them or make them from a mix, I decided to go big or go home and make them from scratch. So I enlisted a dear friend from college to help me out, and last Friday night we cranked out two batches of cake pops. Making the actual cakes the day before definitely streamlined the assembly process, but let me tell you, this is not a recipe you want to make by yourself. Weirdly enough, I didn't end up with the full 40 cake pops with either recipe (I think I got 32 out of each) even though I used the same cookie scoop for each one, but I don't think I would have had enough room in my freezer for another dozen. The few we sampled were delicious, and I hope our guests agree!


Pro tip: Add a spoonful of coconut oil to the melted chocolate for a better dipping consistency.


Another pro tip: Use dark chocolate for dipping the chocolate cake pops to cut the sweetness.


What I Created

  • Unpublished original poem "Prayer for Endings"

  • Article "On Turning 24"

August is ending, bringing in a brand new September. Tomorrow, I officially begin school––not as a student, but as a teacher once again. Yes, a chapter is over, and a new one is about to start. I'm hopeful it will be a good one.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page