top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: December 2023

You pluck me flowers from the sky

and scatter them for me to catch.

They have no substance but belief,

which lends imaginations mass.


Like kisses blown the petals find

my warmest welcome; I can play

along. I lift you high to reach

the finest blooms for our bouquet.


Too soon you will not need my height,

but, growing tall, will realize

that flowers only blossomed when

you searched for them with wondering eyes.


So time reclaims its choicest gifts.

I will be gone when you are grown

and you will set me down to rest

and lay your flowers on my stone.

 

Here's what I read, cooked, and created in the month of December.


What I Read

  • The Beatryce Prophecy, Kate DiCamillo (★★★★★)

  • The Starless Sea, Erin Morgenstern (★★★)––reread

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


What I Cooked

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: If you need a good holiday appetizer for a Christmas get-together, this is a winner. Even if you, like me, are notoriously horrible at making food look pretty, it will still look good.


Difficulty: ★

Flavor: ★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: I did not follow the directions on processing the oats because my food processor was already in use (and I was feeling lazy), and I should have, because my cookies ended up being tiny. Nevertheless, they were delicious, and my husband declared that they may be my best cookies to date.


What I Created

May your days be filled with beauty, and may your heart be filled with the willingness to see and give thanks for it.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page