top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: February


I have spent the last six Februaries unhappy. I'm not sure what it is about the second month of the year––the interminable Wisconsin winters may have something to do with it––but I usually find myself in a massive slump in the third week of the month.


This year, happily, February has been a time of steadiness and sweetness for me. Amidst the load of grad school responsibilities, I have found some time (not as much as I would like, but some) to savor the little things that make life beautiful.


What I Read

  • When They Call You a Terrorist, Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele (★★★★)

  • The Starless Sea, Erin Morgenstern (★★★★★)

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


Even though this list is shorter than I would prefer, I've also done some phenomenal reading for my grad classes this semester. My rhetoric class has introduced me to the works of classical thinkers such as Quintilian and St. Augustine, and I found both Institutes of Oratory and On Christian Doctrine (we only read Book IV) to be profoundly instructive and thought-provoking. I hope to pick up On Christian Doctrine in the future (you know, that mythical point later in life when I'll have more time) so I can read it in its entirety.


I have to say, the coolest thing about being in grad school so far has been being able to casually say, "Yeah, I read Plato this morning."


What I Cooked

I've had Zuppa Toscano before and enjoyed it, but let me tell you, this recipe is now one of my top 5 soups (and soup is my favorite food group, so that's saying something). Adaptable for the stovetop, Instant Pot, or slow cooker (my method of choice), this recipe is phenomenally flavorful and cozy for cold winter nights.

When two foodie friends both recommend the same recipe, it's a sign that I have to try it. These bowls are essentially the burger equivalent of a taco salad, and I found them quite delicious and worthy of repetition (even though I forgot to add the bacon). When I do make them again, I plan to omit the maple syrup from the special sauce and add a little sriracha to give it some kick. I also recommend that you skip making the quick guacamole in favor of just dicing the avocado and calling it good. The easier, the better.

As soon as this recipe hit my Instagram feed, I knew it would be perfect for my family's annual Valentine's Day dinner. I love traditional cheesecake, of course, but the bars seemed more low-maintenance than the white chocolate raspberry cheesecake I've made in the past, so we decided to give them a try. They are the perfect balance of decadence and sweetness (i.e. rich and flavorful but not filled with so much sugar that they make your teeth hurt), and I give you full permission to, if you make them, eat one for breakfast the next morning.

The problem with muffins, in my experience, is that I never have all the ingredients on hand for the recipes I'd like to try. These muffins, however, are the perfect pantry recipe. They're straightforward and delicious. Is there anything more you could want from a muffin?


What I Created


As March begins, I will complete my Classical Rhetoric and Editing, Layout, and Publishing classes (only 2,250 more words left to write on my term paper for the former . . . ), and then enjoy a lighter load with only one course in the second subterm of the semester, which I hope will give me more time for fun writing and reading. I truly do feel so grateful that, even when my feet are tired from an eight-hour shift and my sink is full of dishes to wash, I can be strengthening my mind and growing my skills through my time in grad school. I know I am right where I ought to be, and even though I don't intend to stay in this in-between space forever, I'm happy to be here.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page