top of page
  • Writer's picturer.m. allen

Monthly Review: October 2023


You are the sound of falling snow,

the morel that explodes

into existence overnight.

You are kite-tails and streamers

swirling as you drift.


You are a drawstring purse,

opened wide then cinching tight,

for even owning nothing,

you are precious

for your hoarded mysteries.


You are the child’s awe-dropped jaw

(can you see us seeing you?)

Through glass, through bottled ocean,

through your own crystalline skin—

a ruby glows.


You are a strange and lonesome luminary,

an envoy from the darkness

here before us, who could never visit your far country.

You tell us, unspeaking, that there are far more wonders

floating just before our eyes, and yet beyond our grasp.

 

Here's what I read, cooked, and created in the month of October.


What I Read

  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot (★★★★)

  • Tending the Heart of Virtue: How Classic Stories Awaken a Child's Moral Imagination, Vigen Guroian (★★★)

  • Beware the Night, Jessika Fleck (★★)

If you want to hear the rationale behind my rating, head to my Goodreads for full reviews.


What I Cooked

Difficulty: ★★

Flavor: ★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: I love making pudding when I entertain because I can do it ahead of time, and it feels special to have something homemade. The flavor and texture were great, and the only bad part was individually shelling my pistachios because I couldn't find pre-shelled ones that were both unsalted and raw. Such is life.

Difficulty: ★★★

Flavor: ★★★★★

Keeper: Yes

Comments: I made as directed for a 9x13, and while this recipe was a little fiddly (as many of her recipes are), the payoff was well worth the work (again, also the case with many of her recipes). If you need to bring a show-stopping dessert for Thanksgiving, this would be a good choice.


What I Created

  • Original essay "Counting My Blessings Every Day"

  • Original blackout poem "Plot Twist"

  • The end of a poem I had forgotten about for 2 years

May your days be filled with beauty, and may your heart be filled with the willingness to see and give thanks for it.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page